New Award honoring Monica Hughes

The Canadian Children’s Book Centre has just announced a new children’s book award which I’m so excited about, The Monica Hughes Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy.  Sponsored by Harper Collins Canada, the award honors the late, great Monica Hughes whose was a powerhouse in the field of science fiction and fantasy for young readers.  Our Roundtable brought Monica Hughes out to speak on three separate occasions, and each time was a real treat. I had the pleasure on taking her out for dinner on two of those occasions, and found that she was as humble as she was talented.  Books like The Isis Trilogy, Invitation to the Game, The Golden Aquarians and The Maze, are among my favorites, and are as current and thought-provoking today as the day they were written.

Thank you Harper Collins Canada for stepping up to the plate and honoring one of our finest writers for young people.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: